Hello Everyone!

Please introduce yourself here, if you haven't already.
Forum rules
Members will observe the rules for respectful discourse at all times!
Please sign all posts with your first and last (family) name.
Paul Kohlmeier

Hello Everyone!

Post by Paul Kohlmeier »

Hello,

I am a recent graduate from a Master's Degree in Biblical Studies (and a hopeful soon to be PhD student as well) from NY state. It has been a few years since I've done anything with Biblical Hebrew, and I'm hoping to utilize this forum to recover and expand my Hebrew. During my previous studies we used Biblical Hebrew: An Introductory Grammar by Kelley. Honestly, I did not like the exercises very much in that textbook. We only got about a third of the way into the textbook, as the school I attended was small. Now I've decided to give a go at Seow's grammar on my own.

Thanks for having me!
Jason Hare

Re: Hello Everyone!

Post by Jason Hare »

Wow, Paul. I’m actually excited to hear that you’re going to go forward with Seow’s grammar. It’s what I learned from. Just to be sure, it’s not for the faint of heart. He really gets into patterns and morphology, following his predecessor, Thomas Lambdin. My personal suggestion would be the change directions and go with Kutz and Josberger’s Learning Biblical Hebrew: Reading for Comprehension. It’s all about reading and getting ahead in Hebrew.

If you decide to stay with Seow (and that is understandable), know that: (1) I have the text and would love to help in any way that I can; and, (2) the best part of it are the actual translations from the Hebrew Bible, for which you just read the text directly from the Bible and use his notes to help translate. The more reading you do in the Hebrew Bible, the better your Hebrew will be. I’m happy to be here to challenge, help, and encourage you—as I’m sure you’ll find others here on the forum to be.