Introduce Karl W. Randolph.

Please introduce yourself here, if you haven't already.
Forum rules
Members will observe the rules for respectful discourse at all times!
Please sign all posts with your first and last (family) name.
kwrandolph

Introduce Karl W. Randolph.

Post by kwrandolph »

I studied Hebrew for one year at Bethany Lutheran College in Mankato, Minnesota, under Rudolph Honsey. A couple of years later I started reading Tanakh through cover to cover, an exercise I repeated so often I have lost count. I started with Biblia Hebreica, Davidson’s Analytical Lexicon, Gesenius’ Lexicon and Lisowski’s Concordance.

Along the way, I realized through analysis of how words are used as listed in Lisowski’s Concordance that the glosses in Gesenius’ lexicon, also in BDB and Davidson’s Analytical Lexicon, are not always accurate, so I started writing corrections in the margins, as well as pointers to synonyms, until they became so extensive that I realized that I had written my own dictionary. I then put my dictionary into digital form, continue to update it, and now offer it as a .pdf file to those who ask for it.

After reading Tanakh through a few times, I came to the conclusion that the grammatical picture, given in class and in other sources I had seen, is inaccurate. The Hebrew verbs conjugate for neither tense nor aspect, and only partially for mood. I include a proposed simple grammar as an appendix to my dictionary.

A note on theology, presented here merely to show people from where I come for the purpose of making clear what I say, and not as an attempt at proselytism (I figure that the members of this group have already heard all the proselytism arguments, so why bother?).