Hebrew verb theories

Classical Hebrew morphology and syntax, aspect, linguistics, discourse analysis, and related topics
Forum rules
Members will observe the rules for respectful discourse at all times!
Please sign all posts with your first and last (family) name.
normansimonr

Hebrew verb theories

Post by normansimonr »

Hello everyone. I've been told that there are several theories of the Hebrew verbal system. Could you tell me which they are? (I'm not an avanced student)

I've read that the old theories pointed that perfect meant past, and imperfect meant present, but then I heard that this idea no longer holds, since Hebrew didn't have tense as in Western languages, but instead represented aspect and mood. I'm studying with the SBL textbook, but it's discussion of this topic is a bit messy, and I got lost soon. Any advice you could give me would be very appreciated.

Thank you.
Isaac Fried

Re: Hebrew verb theories

Post by Isaac Fried »

I have not seen The SBL Hebrew textbook, but any keen eyed observer sees right away that the Hebrew verb consists of a root augmented by identity markers, or personal pronouns (PP), for the actors involved in the said act. A PP is a temporary universal name.

The Hebrew language has apparently developed independently in different areas, by different Hebrew clans and tribes, who devised, each, a different system of such PP additions, some injected into the root, some hitched to it fore and aft. Eventually these different verbal constructions, בנינים BINYANIYM, merged into the Hebrew language, and later even acquired some additional helpful grammatical functions.

Isaac Fried, Boston University
Mark Lightman

Post by Mark Lightman »

normansimonr wrote:Any advice you could give me would be very appreciated.
Avoid theory altogether. In language, map is not territory.
Mark Lightman
Ken M. Penner

Post by Ken M. Penner »