Masoretic text as a translation

Classical Hebrew morphology and syntax, aspect, linguistics, discourse analysis, and related topics
Forum rules
Members will observe the rules for respectful discourse at all times!
Please sign all posts with your first and last (family) name.
normansimonr

Masoretic text as a translation

Post by normansimonr »

Hello there.

Some days ago I had the chance to read some parts of Tanakh Ram, the recent translation of the Tanakh into Modern Hebrew (actually I didn't understand much, since I'm still a beginner in both Biblical and Modern Hebrew ;) ), and an idea came up.

So, Tanakh Ram is a targum that translates the Hebrew of the masoretes into Modern Hebrew. But isn't the masoretes' text a translation from Biblical Hebrew into Medieval (or masoretic) Hebrew? Does such a statement make sense?

I say that because as some people have pointed out here, the original biblical texts didn't contain vowel points nor accents and, to a large extent, I suppose, what we call the masoretic text is the interpretation the Medieval Jewish scholars gave to the texts they were reading.

Certainly I'd find the masoretic pointing system quite useful when reading the Tanakh, just as a modern Israeli would find it useful to read the Aleppo Codex along with the Tanakh Ram's text. But neither the Tanakh Ram, nor the Aleppo Codex, nor the Leningrad Codex are actual original texts, they might be thought as translations, even though they're all in Hebrew... Well, I'm not so sure, it's just an idea that came to my mind. What it would imply is that when reading the text one shouldn't stick too rigidly to the niqqud's interpretation and instead weigh it just as we weigh the Septuagint or the Vulgate. What do you think?
Mark Lightman

Re: Masoretic text as a translation

Post by Mark Lightman »

normansimonr wrote: But isn't the masoretes' text a translation from Biblical Hebrew into Medieval (or masoretic) Hebrew? Does such a statement make sense?