entering biblical Hebrew on the Mac

A place for members to share information and news about books, software, and websites of interest.
Forum rules
Members will observe the rules for respectful discourse at all times!
Please sign all posts with your first and last (family) name.
sblarose

entering biblical Hebrew on the Mac

Post by sblarose »

I would like opinions about the options available for entering BH on Mac OS 10.8. I have two students using Macs, both using the same version. They are slogging through at this point; but we have just begun a 12-week intensive course, and if we can settle on this question it would help in the long term. I am new to using the Mac myself and do most of my Hebrew work on the PC, so I thought I would check here. They need support for vowels, dagesh and sheva, and maqqeph at a minimum. I would like for them to be able to enter the methegh as well.

Thanks.
Sarah Blake LaRose
http://www.night-light.org
Jemoh66

Re: entering biblical Hebrew on the Mac

Post by Jemoh66 »

Jonathan E Mohler
Studying for a MA in Intercultural Studies
Baptist Bible Theological Seminary
Kirk Lowery
Site Admin

Post by Kirk Lowery »

My ordinary practice on all platforms is to copy and paste text from the Hebrew Bible into whatever document I'm writing. Of course, a keyboard entry is still necessary for when one is generating unique text, e.g., paradigms. I avoid trying to type BH myself. It's far too easy to make mistakes unless one is only typing consonants.

Another thought: I don't know your pedagogical situation, but if it is not for papers in the classic sense, but for practice, have you considered "low tech" and have them do it by hand? Learning Hebrew cursive is also useful, IMO.
Kirk E. Lowery, PhD
B-Hebrew Site Administrator & Moderator
blog: https://blogs.emdros.org/eh
Jemoh66

Post by Jemoh66 »

Any serious linguistics scholar should consider using the Mellel word processor.
Goto: https://www.linguistsoftware.com/mellel.htm