Maqqef vs inseparable, and choices in pronouns

A place for those new to Biblical Hebrew to ask basic questions about the language of the Hebrew Bible.
Forum rules
Members will observe the rules for respectful discourse at all times!
Please sign all posts with your first and last (family) name.
briceg

Maqqef vs inseparable, and choices in pronouns

Post by briceg »

I am a seminary student and in some of my assignments, I translate English to Hebrew.

Are there guidelines in picking the prepositional or pronominal forms to use when there are options?

For instance when do we use the maqqef form versus the inseparable form of מִנ? Or use הֵמ rather than הֵמָה?
Last edited by briceg on Wed Apr 13, 2022 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Brice Giesbrecht
Indiana USA
Jason Hare

Re: Maqqef vs inseparable, and choices in pronouns

Post by Jason Hare »

There’s no difference between מִן־הַשָּׁמַ֫יִם and מֵהַשָּׁמַ֫יִם. You can choose to use either one. הֵ֫מָּה (notice the dagesh) is far rarer than הֵם.

One thing that is NECESSARY, though, is the use of final forms. You cannot write שמימ and מנ. You must use the final mem and nun and write שמים and מן.
Jason Hare
Tel Aviv, Israel
The Hebrew Café
יוֹדֵ֣עַ צַ֭דִּיק נֶ֣פֶשׁ בְּהֶמְתּ֑וֹ וְֽרַחֲמֵ֥י רְ֝שָׁעִ֗ים אַכְזָרִֽי׃
ספר משלי י״ב, י׳
briceg

Post by briceg »

Thank you for that. And yes, I need to consult my keyboard layout for those final forms.
Brice Giesbrecht
Indiana USA
S_Walch

Post by S_Walch »

The following has handy info for the beginning Hebrew typer:

http://bibleandtech.blogspot.com/2010/0 ... ebrew.html
Ste Walch
bdenckla

Post by bdenckla »