Isac & Yaniv - Common etymology?

A place for those new to Biblical Hebrew to ask basic questions about the language of the Hebrew Bible.
Forum rules
Members will observe the rules for respectful discourse at all times!
Please sign all posts with your first and last (family) name.
DavidArgentina

Isac & Yaniv - Common etymology?

Post by DavidArgentina »

Hi all,

I was wondering about the etymology of the names Isac & Yaniv.

I read that in ancient Hebrew, Isac means "he will speak, he will generate, he will prosper" and Yaniv means "he will laugh." These seems similar to me. Is there a common etymology?

Could a primarily Hebrew-speaking person translate their name in Hebrew to be alternately Isac and Yaniv or are they completely different? Are there other names like that?

I'm just starting to learn Hebrew but I think these kinds of questions are so interesting.

Thanks so much!
kwrandolph

Re: Isac & Yaniv - Common etymology?

Post by kwrandolph »

Dear David Argentina:

One of the rules of this forum is that you sign your posts with your first and last names. I hope I have your name correct above.
DavidArgentina wrote:Hi all,

I was wondering about the etymology of the names Isac & Yaniv.
Could you give those names in Hebrew—I’m guessing on the first name, and can’t find the second, so I can’t answer your question.

However a general statement on etymology is that words need not only to have similar meanings to share a similar etymology, but must also have similar forms. If they have similar meanings but very different forms, as in your example above, then they are synonyms that don’t share a common etymology.
DavidArgentina wrote:I read that in ancient Hebrew, Isac means "he will speak, he will generate, he will prosper" and Yaniv means "he will laugh." These seems similar to me. Is there a common etymology?
These don’t sound similar to me at all. Further, I find no words in Biblical Hebrew that have those forms and meanings.